Phones

OPPO A3 Pro

OPPO's A3 Pro 5G offers a 120Hz screen, a Dimensity 6300 chip, a 5,100 mAh battery with 45W SUPERVOOC charging and a slim 7.68 mm body that OPPO tests against 1.4 m drops.

OPPO A3 Pro

Key figures at a glance

5,100 mAhBattery
120 HzRefresh rate
50 MPMain camera
8 GBRAM

Specifications

Display
6.67" LCD, 1604x720 (HD+), up to 120Hz, 264 ppi, 1000 nits peak brightness (typical, in sunlight)
Chipset
MediaTek Dimensity 6300 (6 nm)
RAM
8GB
Storage
128GB / 256GB
Rear Camera
50MP main (f/1.8, autofocus) + 2MP portrait camera (f/2.4)
Front Camera
8MP (f/2.0)
Battery
5,100 mAh typical (4,970 mAh rated), 45W SUPERVOOC (OPPO claims up to 50% in 30 minutes)
OS
ColorOS 14.0.1
Memory
Configurations 6GB + 128GB and 8GB + 256GB (LPDDR4X, UFS 2.2); RAM Expansion adds up to 8GB of virtual RAM from storage; storage card supported
Dimensions
165.79 x 76.14 x 7.68 mm, about 186 g
Durability
OPPO states a 1.4 m drop test on a marble floor (laboratory), plus water, dust and thermal-shock certification; no IP code stated on the pages consulted
Connectivity
5G, Wi-Fi 5, Bluetooth 5.3 (SBC, AAC, aptX, aptX HD, LDAC), USB-C, 3.5mm headphone jack, NFC (region dependent), nano-SIM
Security
Fingerprint and face recognition
Colors
Starry Black, Moonlight Purple

The OPPO A3 Pro (sold as the A3 Pro 5G, model CPH2639) is a value-oriented phone from OPPO's A series that puts durability and battery life ahead of raw speed. Its published specifications describe a 6.67-inch screen that refreshes at up to 120Hz, a MediaTek Dimensity 6300 chip, a 5,100 mAh battery with 45W SUPERVOOC fast charging, a 7.68 mm body and a laboratory-tested "360-degree damage-proof" construction. This review is based on the published specifications on OPPO's global product and specification pages. It presents the company's durability, battery and performance statements as claims, not as measured results, and it does not quote a price or an on-sale date because the pages consulted give neither.

Where it sits in the lineup

OPPO's A series is the company's mainstream and budget line, positioned below the Reno and Find series. The A3 Pro 5G stands out within the A series for its large battery and its durability claims. A later phone in the line is the OPPO A5 Pro, and the OPPO A60 shares the same value positioning. The specification page lists three different band configurations labelled versions 1, 2 and 3, which means that the phone was sold with different network support in different regions, so features such as NFC and some 5G bands depend on the market. OPPO's page does not state a launch date or a US price, so none is given in this entry.

Design and display

OPPO describes the phone as slim and sleek, with a thickness of about 7.68 mm and a weight of about 186 g, measured at 165.79 x 76.14 mm in height and width. The frame has a metallic-look middle bezel, and the two colours are Starry Black, with a fine matte "OPPO Glow" texture that the company says resists fingerprints and scratches, and Moonlight Purple, which uses a crescent-shaped magnetic particle effect that shifts in the light. The Starry Black version ships with a black protective case and other colours with a transparent one, according to the footnotes. The back carries a vertical camera module with a large ring around the main lens.

The display is a 6.67-inch LCD with a resolution of 1604 x 720 pixels, which is HD+ and gives about 264 pixels per inch. That is a lower resolution than many competitors offer at this price, which now often have Full HD+ panels, and text will look softer as a result. The refresh rate can reach 120Hz and the touch sampling rate also peaks at 120Hz. OPPO quotes a peak brightness of 1,000 nits in high-brightness mode, which switches on automatically in strong sunlight, and a typical brightness of 850 nits in normal use. The panel covers 83 percent of NTSC in Vivid mode and 71 percent in Natural mode, uses 8-bit colour and is Amazon HD certified for streaming video. A feature called Splash Touch is meant to keep the screen responsive with wet hands. The phone also has a 3.5mm headphone jack and an Ultra Volume Mode that OPPO says can raise call volume to 300 percent.

Performance and software

The Dimensity 6300 is a 6 nm entry-level 5G chip with eight cores and an ARM Mali-G57 MC2 graphics unit. It is designed for efficiency, not for demanding games, and OPPO's own text stresses low power consumption. The memory options are 6GB of RAM with 128GB of storage or 8GB with 256GB, using LPDDR4X RAM and UFS 2.2 storage, and a storage card is supported. A RAM Expansion feature can borrow up to 8GB from storage to act as extra virtual RAM; OPPO's footnote explains that this adds virtual memory on top of the physical RAM, so it helps keep apps open but is not equivalent to physical memory. The company also advertises a "50-month fluency protection" measured on the 8GB version in its laboratory, which it explains does not mean there is never any lag.

The operating system is ColorOS 14.0.1, based on Android. The pages consulted do not give an update policy, so none is stated here. Connectivity includes 5G, Wi-Fi 5, Bluetooth 5.3 with SBC, AAC, aptX, aptX HD and LDAC audio codecs, and a USB Type-C port. The phone offers both fingerprint and face recognition. Software extras listed on the product page include AI Eraser, which removes unwanted objects from photos, and AI LinkBoost, which aims to improve network switching and signal stability. These AI features require a network connection and their availability varies by country, according to OPPO's footnote.

Camera

The camera setup is basic. The main camera is a 50MP sensor with an f/1.8 aperture, a 76-degree field of view and autofocus. The second rear camera is a 2MP portrait sensor with fixed focus whose job is to provide depth information for background blur, not to add a new focal length. There is no ultrawide or telephoto lens. The front camera is an 8MP unit with an f/2.0 aperture. Video recording is limited to 1080p at 30 or 60 frames per second on the rear camera, and the front camera records at up to 1080p at 30 frames per second. Shooting modes include Night, Pro, Pano, Portrait, Time-lapse, Slo-mo, Text Scanner, Google Lens, a high-resolution mode and Dual-view Video.

For buyers, the practical message is that this phone is meant for everyday snapshots and social media, with a single useful camera. Anyone who regularly needs wide-angle landscapes, optical zoom or 4K video will need to look higher in OPPO's range or at competing phones. No image-quality claims are made here beyond the published hardware.

Battery and charging

The battery is a typical 5,100 mAh cell, with a rated value of 4,970 mAh listed in the specification table. Charging is 45W SUPERVOOC, backward compatible with 33W SUPERVOOC and 13.5W PD, and OPPO says that it can reach 50 percent in 30 minutes in its laboratory tests. The company also makes a long-life claim, saying that, if the phone is charged once a day, the battery should retain more than 80 percent of its capacity after about four years and four months of use at room temperature, based on theoretical calculations from battery laboratory data. This is a projection, not an observed result. There is no wireless charging. A charger and a USB cable are listed in the box, although OPPO notes that contents may vary by market.

Who it is for

The A3 Pro 5G suits buyers who prioritise a big battery, quick charging, a smooth 120Hz refresh rate and a body that OPPO has tested against drops, and who are happy with a modest camera system and an HD+ screen. Parents who want a phone for a child, people who often use their phone outdoors and anyone who values a headphone jack have reasons to consider it. If you want a sharper display or a stronger camera, it is worth comparing it with the Galaxy A56 or the Pixel 9a, which cost more but offer more. See also the rankings page for a wider comparison.

Compromises to consider

The main trade-offs are the HD+ LCD, which is less sharp than the OLED or Full HD+ panels on many rivals, the entry-level Dimensity 6300 chip, the two-sensor camera with a 2MP depth lens, the lack of 4K video and the absence of wireless charging. The pages consulted give no IP rating, only a general statement of water, dust and thermal-shock certification, and the 1.4 m drop test is a laboratory result that OPPO says does not guarantee everyday durability. Wi-Fi 5 rather than Wi-Fi 6 is another sign of the price tier. Because the phone uses different band sets by region, buyers outside the main markets should check that the version they are offered supports the local 5G bands.

Where it ranks

Compare OPPO A3 Pro with similar devices

More from OPPO

Frequently asked questions

When was the OPPO A3 Pro released?

The manufacturer’s release date for the OPPO A3 Pro is not stated in the information we have.

What are the main specs of the OPPO A3 Pro?

Headline figures for the OPPO A3 Pro: Battery: 5,100 mAh, Refresh rate: 120 Hz, Main camera: 50 MP, RAM: 8 GB. The full specification table is further up this page.

Is the OPPO A3 Pro worth buying?

That depends on your priorities. Use the editorial review on this page for our view, check the rankings above to see where the device stands on battery, display and camera, and compare it directly with similar models before you decide.