Phones
Samsung Galaxy A26
Samsung's 2025 value phone pairs a 6.7-inch 120Hz Super AMOLED screen with a stabilised 50MP camera, IP67 and a 5,000 mAh battery, plus six years of OS and security updates.

Key figures at a glance
Gallery





Specifications
- Display
- 6.7" FHD+ Super AMOLED, 1080x2340, up to 120Hz
- Chipset
- Octa-core, 2.4GHz + 2GHz (chipset name not stated on Samsung's product pages)
- RAM
- 8GB
- Storage
- 128GB / 256GB, microSD up to 2TB
- Rear Camera
- 50MP main (OIS, f/1.8) + 8MP ultrawide (f/2.2) + 2MP macro (f/2.4)
- Front Camera
- 13MP (f/2.2)
- Battery
- 5,000 mAh (typical), charger not included (10-25W USB PD chargers listed by Samsung Ireland)
- OS
- Android, One UI 7, 6 OS upgrades and 6 years of security updates
- Dimensions
- 164.0 x 77.5 x 7.7 mm, 200 g
- Durability
- IP67, Gorilla Glass Victus+ front and back
- Security
- Samsung Knox Vault (EAL5+)
- Connectivity
- 5G, dual nano-SIM (hybrid slot with microSD), Wi-Fi 802.11ac, Bluetooth 5.3, USB Type-C
- Colors
- Black, White, Mint, Peach Pink (availability varies by market)
The Samsung Galaxy A26 5G is a value-oriented 5G smartphone from Samsung's 2025 A series. It brings a 6.7-inch 120Hz Super AMOLED screen, a 50MP main camera with optical image stabilisation, IP67 dust and water resistance and a 5,000 mAh battery to the lower-middle price range, and it comes with six generations of OS upgrades and six years of security updates. This page is based on the published specifications and manufacturer information from Samsung's US product page and its India, Ireland and South Africa pages, and it marks Samsung's statements as claims.
Place in the lineup
The A26 sits below the Galaxy A36 and A56 in Samsung's 2025 mid-range family, and its direct predecessor is the Galaxy A25. Samsung's own comparison on the US page lists the main differences: a bigger 6.7-inch Super AMOLED display with slimmer bezels, a glass back, a body that is slimmer at 7.7 mm instead of 8.3 mm, a main camera with optical stabilisation, IP67 protection, and extended software support of six OS updates and six years of security updates. Further up the range, the Galaxy A56 is the model to look at if you want a more powerful processor and a more complete camera set, and a Galaxy A26 vs. Galaxy A56 comparison shows the gap in detail. The newer 2026 generation in this database, the Galaxy A17, Galaxy A27 and Galaxy A37, covers the same price ladder one year later.
Samsung's pages differ by country on several details. The India page gives a launch date of 24 March 2025, which is the date used here, while the US and other pages do not print a date. The US page does not give a price in the text that was available, so this entry does not state a price. Memory options also vary by market: the India and Ireland pages list 8GB of RAM with 128GB or 256GB of storage, and Samsung notes that configurations and colours depend on country, region or carrier.
Design and display
Samsung describes the phone as slim, flat and glossy, with a glass back and a clean, linear camera layout. The dimensions are 164.0 x 77.5 x 7.7 mm and the weight is 200 g, according to the India and Ireland pages, and Gorilla Glass Victus+ covers the front and the back, except for the camera glass. The US page shows a classic black finish, while other regions list White, Mint and Peach Pink as well, so the available colours depend on where you buy. The IP67 rating means protection against dust and submersion in fresh water to 1 metre for up to 30 minutes; it is one step below the IP68 rating of some higher models.
The display is a 6.7-inch Super AMOLED panel with a Full HD+ resolution of 1080 x 2340 pixels and a refresh rate of up to 120Hz, which Samsung says makes scrolling, video and gaming smoother. The screen has a teardrop notch for the front camera and slim bezels. Samsung does not give a peak-brightness figure on the pages used for this entry, so outdoor visibility is something to check in independent measurements before buying. For a phone in this price range, an AMOLED panel with a high refresh rate and a full-HD resolution is a strong point.
Performance, memory and software
Samsung's product pages are unusually vague about the processor: the India and Ireland specification lists only an octa-core CPU running at 2.4GHz and 2GHz, and the US and South Africa pages talk about an upgraded CPU or application processor without naming it. This entry therefore does not name the chipset. What can be said is that Samsung describes the performance as suitable for browsing, streaming and gaming, and that the phone should be seen as an everyday device and not a gaming phone.
RAM is 8GB on the Indian and Irish listings, with 128GB or 256GB of storage, and a microSD card of up to 2TB can be added. The microSD card shares a hybrid slot with the second SIM, so you can use either two SIM cards or one SIM and one memory card. That is a useful feature, because many phones in this class have dropped card slots. Software is One UI 7 on Android, and Samsung promises six OS upgrades and six years of security updates; the India page gives 31 March 2031 as the end of security support. For a phone at this price, this is one of the longest update promises on the market, and it is probably the most important reason to choose the A26 over rivals with shorter support.
Samsung also highlights features that it groups under the name Awesome Intelligence, including Circle to Search with Google (stated to be a first on an A-series phone), Edit Suggestion for photos and an enhanced Object Eraser. Samsung Knox Vault, certified to EAL5+, protects sensitive data, and Samsung Wallet, Quick Share and Smart Switch (for moving data from an iPhone) are part of the software package.
Camera
The rear camera has three lenses: a 50MP wide-angle main camera with optical image stabilisation (aperture f/1.8), an 8MP ultrawide camera (f/2.2) and a 2MP macro camera (f/2.4). Autofocus, an LED flash and up to 10x digital zoom are listed, and video can be recorded in 4K at 30 frames per second. Samsung also lists slow-motion modes. The front camera is a 13MP unit with an f/2.2 aperture and no autofocus. The stabilised main camera is the most important element: Samsung says it helps to take steady shots at parties, concerts and sports events, where blur is the most common problem for budget phones.
The 2MP macro camera is a spec-sheet filler in most phones of this class and rarely adds much, and the 8MP ultrawide is modest. Buyers who care about photos should treat the main camera as the one that matters and the others as secondary. As always, the quality of the images depends on Samsung's processing, and the manufacturer's pages do not give sample comparisons that can be judged independently.
Battery and charging
The battery is rated at 5,000 mAh typical (the India page also states a rated minimum of 4,860 mAh) and Samsung's listing gives up to 17 hours of video playback. The Irish page lists a charger compatibility of 10 to 25W with USB Power Delivery and notes that no charger is included in the box, so you need to buy or reuse an adapter. That fits the general pattern for this class: wired charging at around 25W is moderate compared with the 45W of the newer A37, and wireless charging is not offered. For most users, the combination of a large battery and an efficient AMOLED screen should last a full day, but Samsung's numbers come from its own test conditions.
Connectivity and extras
The A26 supports 5G sub-6 networks plus 4G LTE, 3G and 2G fallbacks, dual nano-SIM, dual-band Wi-Fi (802.11ac), Bluetooth 5.3, GPS with Glonass, Beidou, Galileo and QZSS, and a USB Type-C port (USB 2.0). The Indian listing mentions a fingerprint sensor and the usual sensor set, and a SmartThings connection for Samsung's other devices. Samsung also advertises perks tied to the US version, such as Samsung TV Plus and a trial of Samsung Health, which are marketing extras rather than hardware features.
Who it is for
The Galaxy A26 suits people who want a dependable everyday phone from a large brand with long update support: first-time Samsung buyers, parents buying for teenagers, and users who value an AMOLED screen, water resistance and a memory card slot without paying for a flagship. It also suits anyone who keeps phones for four or five years, since six years of updates is the main differentiator.
Compromises
- Unnamed processor: Samsung's pages give only core counts and clock speeds, and the performance level is not stated, so independent benchmarks are worth checking.
- Moderate charging: wired charging is in the 10 to 25W range, the charger is not included and there is no wireless charging.
- Minor extra cameras: the 2MP macro and the 8MP ultrawide add little compared with the 50MP main camera.
- IP67, not IP68: good protection for rain and brief immersion, but one step below the rating of more expensive models.
- Regional differences: colours, memory and sometimes the chipset vary by market, so check the exact listing before buying.
Overall, the Galaxy A26 5G is a safe, well-supported value phone whose main strengths are the display, the stabilised camera and the update policy. To see how it stacks up against other models in the database, look at the rankings page.
Where it ranks
Compare Samsung Galaxy A26 with similar devices
More from Samsung
Frequently asked questions
When was the Samsung Galaxy A26 released?
The Samsung Galaxy A26 was released on 2025-03-24, according to the manufacturer’s published information.
What are the main specs of the Samsung Galaxy A26?
Headline figures for the Samsung Galaxy A26: Battery: 5,000 mAh, Refresh rate: 120 Hz, Main camera: 50 MP, RAM: 8 GB. The full specification table is further up this page.
Is the Samsung Galaxy A26 worth buying?
That depends on your priorities. Use the editorial review on this page for our view, check the rankings above to see where the device stands on battery, display and camera, and compare it directly with similar models before you decide.


