Tablets
HONOR Pad 20 Pro
HONOR's 12.1-inch Pad 20 Pro pairs a 3000x1872 LCD that runs up to 165Hz with a Snapdragon 8s Gen 4, a 10,100mAh battery and a desktop-style PC mode.

Key figures at a glance
Gallery




Specifications
- Display
- 12.1" LCD, 3000x1872, 165Hz (165/144/120/90/60Hz), 700 nits peak (HBM), 292 PPI, 1.07 billion colors, DCI-P3
- Chipset
- Snapdragon 8s Gen 4 (octa-core, up to 3.2GHz)
- Rear Camera
- 13MP main (f/2.0, AF)
- Front Camera
- 8MP (f/2.0, fixed focus)
- Battery
- 10,100 mAh (typical; 10,000 mAh rated)
- OS
- MagicOS 10 (Android 16)
- Dimensions
- 277.07 x 179.28 x 6.29 mm, approx. 537 g
- Audio
- Six-speaker stereo system, DTS:X Ultra
- Connectivity
- Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6.0
- Accessories
- HONOR Magic-Pencil 4s and keyboard sold separately
- Colors
- Gray
The HONOR Pad 20 Pro is a 12.1-inch Android tablet built around a 3000 x 1872 LCD that can run at up to 165 Hz, a Snapdragon 8s Gen 4 chip and a battery rated at 10,100 mAh in typical terms. It sits at the top of HONOR's Pad N series, aimed at people who want one slate for video, note-taking and light office work rather than a pure media screen. This page works through what HONOR publishes about the device: where it fits in the range, how the display and body are specified, what to expect from the chip and MagicOS, how the single rear camera fits in, the battery and the accessories, and the compromises you accept. Everything below is based on the published specifications and manufacturer information, not on personal testing, and manufacturer statements are marked as claims.
Where it sits in the lineup
HONOR's tablet catalogue is split into several families. The MagicPad series holds the most expensive models, the Pad X series covers inexpensive tablets for families and students, and the Pad N series sits between them with a focus on large screens and productivity features. The Pad 20 Pro is the higher of the two current Pad 20 models; the plain HONOR Pad 20 uses a less powerful chip and a slower panel. HONOR also lists a "Paperlike Edition" of the Pro on its product page, which suggests a matte, writing-oriented screen variant of the same hardware, although this page covers the standard model only. The tablet was introduced in late August 2026; the on-sale date used here is the announcement-period date and may differ slightly by country.
Against the wider market, a 12.1-inch screen with a roughly 16:10 aspect ratio puts it in the same size class as Samsung's larger tablets but below the 14-inch-plus Ultra models such as the Galaxy Tab S12 Ultra. If you want to see how a big-screen Android competitor from another brand stacks up on paper, the HONOR Pad 20 Pro vs Galaxy Tab S12 Ultra comparison lines the published numbers up side by side. It is also worth looking at how Apple's approach differs, for example in the iPad Pro (M5) page, because HONOR is clearly positioning its PC mode and keyboard accessory against that kind of workflow.
Design and body
HONOR describes a "delicate metal body". The published dimensions are 277.07 mm wide, 179.28 mm tall and 6.29 mm thick, with a weight of about 537 g including the battery. For a tablet with a 10,100 mAh battery that is a fairly slim and moderate figure; it will feel substantial in one hand for long reading sessions, but it is not unusual for the size class. The company says the screen-to-body ratio is 88 percent, which indicates thin, even bezels. HONOR's marketing renders show a single circular camera module on the back in a silver finish, with the HONOR logo centred on the rear panel, and a gray colour is mentioned on the product page. No official ingress-protection rating is given in the specification list, so treat it as an unprotected device when it comes to water and dust.
The audio hardware is a notable point. HONOR specifies a six-speaker stereo system with its own sound algorithm and DTS:X Ultra processing. Six drivers in a 12-inch slab should give a wide soundstage for films and calls, and it is a step above the four-speaker layouts found on many mid-range tablets. As always, the quality of tuning matters as much as the count, and that cannot be judged from a data sheet.
Display
The display is the tablet's main selling point. It is a 12.1-inch LCD with a resolution of 3000 x 1872 pixels, which works out to 292 pixels per inch. HONOR specifies 700 nits peak brightness in high-brightness mode, a typical contrast ratio of 1500:1, 10-bit colour handling for roughly 1.07 billion colours (the company explains that this is 8-bit hardware with a software extension for the last two bits), and coverage of the DCI-P3 wide colour gamut. The refresh rate tops out at 165 Hz, with five selectable steps: 165, 144, 120, 90 and 60 Hz. High refresh rates on a tablet matter for pen latency and scrolling smoothness, and they also help in the occasional game, although the real gain depends on the app actually delivering those frame rates.
Because the panel is an LCD rather than an OLED, blacks and contrast will not match a Samsung Dynamic AMOLED 2X screen, and peak brightness of 700 nits is moderate compared with the 1,000 nits and above that some premium rivals quote. In exchange, an LCD avoids the pulse-width modulation questions that come with OLED dimming. HONOR leans heavily on eye comfort: it claims TÜV Rheinland low-blue-light and flicker-free certification, global DC dimming, dynamic dimming and a circadian night mode, and it says its "defocus display" feature produces an average 13-degree improvement in transient myopia across more than 2,000 apps. These are laboratory figures from HONOR, the company states that the product is not a medical device, and independent evidence for the myopia claim is limited, so view it as a marketing feature rather than a proven health benefit. The flicker-free and low-blue-light certifications are more concrete and may matter if you read at night.
Performance and software
The processor is the Snapdragon 8s Gen 4. HONOR lists an octa-core layout with one Cortex-X4-class core at 3.2 GHz, three A720 cores at 3.0 GHz, two A720 cores at 2.8 GHz and two A720 cores at 2.0 GHz. The company claims a 31 percent CPU and 49 percent GPU performance improvement, citing Qualcomm's figures against the previous generation of this chip tier. The 8s line is a step below the full flagship Snapdragon 8 Elite family, so expect strong everyday speed and good gaming performance, but not the very top of the benchmark charts. For note-taking, office apps, browsing and video, that is more than enough. HONOR does not publish the memory and storage configurations on the global product and specification pages used for this review, so check the retailer listing in your country for RAM and storage options; they are therefore not stated on this page.
The tablet ships with MagicOS 10 based on Android 16. The main software story is PC mode, which gives the tablet a desktop-style interface with a permanent dock, resizable windows, split-screen layouts and mouse and keyboard shortcut support. It can be toggled from the control centre or by attaching the keyboard accessory. HONOR also highlights AI Memo, a meeting assistant that transcribes audio in real time, supports keyword alerts and generates summaries and mind maps afterwards, and cross-platform file transfer that covers Android, HarmonyOS, iOS, Windows and macOS, including using a Mac as a secondary display. Software update commitments are not stated on the pages reviewed here, which is something to check, because tablets are often kept for four or five years.
Camera
This is a productivity tablet, and the cameras are specified accordingly. The rear camera is a single 13 MP unit with an f/2.0 aperture and autofocus; the front camera is an 8 MP fixed-focus unit, also f/2.0. That is adequate for scanning documents, quick photos and video calls, but nobody should buy a tablet like this for photography. Compared with the 12 MP ultrawide front cameras on some premium tablets, the 8 MP selfie camera is modest, and in video calls its resolution and field of view will be the limiting factors rather than the network.
Battery, charging and connectivity
HONOR quotes a typical battery capacity of 10,100 mAh, with a rated capacity of 10,000 mAh. Using HONOR's own laboratory conditions, the company gives figures of around 12 hours of video, 7 hours of gaming, 8 hours of note-taking and 13 hours of reading, plus a standby time of 72 days. These are tests under specific conditions, and real-world endurance with the screen at 165 Hz and high brightness will be lower. The pages reviewed here do not list a charging speed, so we cannot give a wattage; check the box contents on your regional listing, which includes a charger depending on market. Connectivity is modern: Wi-Fi 7 (802.11be, with a matching router needed) and Bluetooth 6.0 with LE Audio, Auracast and a long list of codecs including LDAC, aptX Lossless and LHDC 5.0. Cellular support is not mentioned on the pages reviewed.
Accessories matter for this tablet. The HONOR Magic-Pencil 4s uses soft and hard dual nibs and, according to HONOR, delivers up to 10 hours of continuous writing after a 50-minute charge. A separate keyboard cover is offered for a laptop-like typing experience. Both are sold separately; the company states that accessories are not included as standard.
Who it is for
The Pad 20 Pro suits people who want a large, sharp, fast screen for study, reading and video, and who value a desktop-like mode with a keyboard and pen. Students taking handwritten notes, remote workers who want a second screen, and families who watch films on the sofa all fit the profile. It is also relevant for anyone who wants a big Android tablet but does not want to pay the price of a top-tier Samsung or Apple model; as no price is confirmed here, check local retail before deciding. If you want a lower-cost alternative with the same screen size, the standard HONOR Pad 20 trades the chip and refresh rate for a lower price tier.
Compromises to consider
- LCD panel: 700 nits and 1500:1 contrast are good for the price class but not equal to OLED tablets.
- Single rear camera: 13 MP and 8 MP front cameras are basic.
- Accessories cost extra: the pen and keyboard are not in the box, and PC mode is most useful with them.
- Missing details: no official water-resistance rating, no stated charging wattage, and memory and storage options not listed on the global pages.
- Software support: an update policy is not stated in the material reviewed.
- Claims are laboratory figures: battery hours and eye-care percentages come from HONOR's own tests.
In short, the HONOR Pad 20 Pro is a large-screen, productivity-oriented Android tablet whose strengths are its 165 Hz 3K LCD, a capable Snapdragon 8s Gen 4 and a very large battery, with the main trade-offs being the LCD technology, the basic cameras and the extra cost of accessories.
Where it ranks
Compare HONOR Pad 20 Pro with similar devices
More from HONOR
Frequently asked questions
When was the HONOR Pad 20 Pro released?
The HONOR Pad 20 Pro was released on 2026-08-24, according to the manufacturer’s published information.
What are the main specs of the HONOR Pad 20 Pro?
Headline figures for the HONOR Pad 20 Pro: Battery: 10,100 mAh, Refresh rate: 165 Hz, Main camera: 13 MP. The full specification table is further up this page.
Is the HONOR Pad 20 Pro worth buying?
That depends on your priorities. Use the editorial review on this page for our view, check the rankings above to see where the device stands on battery, display and camera, and compare it directly with similar models before you decide.


