Tablets

HONOR Pad 20

HONOR Pad 20 is the 12.1-inch, 120Hz sibling of the Pad 20 Pro, using a Snapdragon 7 Gen 3, a 10,100mAh battery and Wi-Fi 6, with a 5G edition for mobile data.

Released 2026-08-24
HONOR Pad 20

Key figures at a glance

10,100 mAhBattery
120 HzRefresh rate
8 MPMain camera

Specifications

Display
12.1" LCD, 3000x1872, 120Hz (120/90/60Hz), 700 nits HDR peak, 292 PPI, 1.07 billion colors, DCI-P3
Chipset
Snapdragon 7 Gen 3 (octa-core)
Rear Camera
8MP main (Wi-Fi edition) / 13MP main (5G edition), f/2.0, AF
Front Camera
8MP (f/2.0, fixed focus)
Battery
10,100 mAh (typical; 10,000 mAh rated)
OS
MagicOS 10
Dimensions
277.07 x 179.28 x 6.29 mm (Wi-Fi) / 6.39 mm (5G), approx. 525 g (Wi-Fi) / 548 g (5G)
Connectivity
Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.3, 5G edition available
Accessories
HONOR Magic-Pencil 4s (USB-C) and keyboard sold separately
Colors
Gray

The HONOR Pad 20 is a 12.1-inch Android tablet that shares its chassis, screen size and 10,100 mAh battery with the more expensive Pad 20 Pro but uses a Snapdragon 7 Gen 3 chip, a 120 Hz panel and Wi-Fi 6. It also comes in two editions: a Wi-Fi model and a 5G model for mobile data. This page walks through what HONOR publishes about it: how it relates to the Pro, what the display and body are specified at, what the processor and MagicOS offer, how the cameras differ between the two editions, what to expect from the battery, and where the compromises lie. It is based on the published specifications and manufacturer information, not on hands-on testing, and statements from HONOR are marked as claims.

Where it sits in the lineup

HONOR's Pad N series is its large-screen, productivity-minded tablet family. The Pad 20 is the standard model, and the HONOR Pad 20 Pro is the step-up. On the HONOR product pages both models appear together with "Paperlike Edition" variants, which are matte-screen versions, but this page covers only the standard Pad 20. The announcement is dated late August 2026, and the release date used here is the announcement-period date, which may vary by country. HONOR has not published a US price on the pages reviewed, and none is given here.

If you are weighing the two models, the practical differences from the published data are these: the Pro runs the Snapdragon 8s Gen 4 against the Pad 20's Snapdragon 7 Gen 3; the Pro's screen reaches 165 Hz while the Pad 20 stops at 120 Hz; the Pro uses Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6.0, the Pad 20 Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.3; and the Pro has a six-speaker system that HONOR specifically advertises. Outside the HONOR range, the nearest Samsung comparison on this site is the Galaxy Tab S11 Ultra, which is a larger and more expensive premium model, and the HONOR Pad 20 vs Galaxy Tab S11 Ultra comparison shows how far apart the two are on paper.

Design and body

The Pad 20 is built in a metal body with the same footprint as the Pro: 277.07 mm wide and 179.28 mm tall. Thickness and weight depend on the edition. The Wi-Fi model is 6.29 mm thick and weighs about 525 g including the battery; the 5G model is 6.39 mm thick and about 548 g. Both figures exclude the camera bump. The difference of roughly 23 g is the sort of change one expects from adding a cellular modem and antennas. HONOR quotes an 88 percent screen-to-body ratio, so the bezels are thin and even. The product renders show a silver-gray back with the HONOR logo and a round camera ring, and the page describes the colour as gray. No ingress-protection rating is listed in the specification table, so water and dust resistance should not be assumed.

At 525 g, the Wi-Fi model is lighter than the Pro (about 537 g), which is a small but real benefit for long reading sessions. The product page does not mention the speaker configuration for this model; the six-speaker system is advertised for the Pro only, so do not assume the same audio hardware.

Display

The screen is a 12.1-inch LCD with a resolution of 3000 x 1872 pixels, or 292 pixels per inch, identical to the Pro. HONOR specifies 700 nits peak brightness in HDR conditions, a typical contrast ratio of 1500:1 and 10-bit colour for about 1.07 billion colours, with the clarification that this is 8-bit hardware plus a software extension. It covers the DCI-P3 wide colour gamut. The maximum refresh rate is 120 Hz with three steps: 120, 90 and 60 Hz. That is smooth for scrolling and handwriting, even if it does not reach the 165 Hz of the Pro. In practice many apps and games do not use more than 120 Hz anyway, so the difference is more visible in spec sheets than in daily life.

As an LCD, the panel will not offer the deep blacks of an OLED tablet, and peak brightness of 700 nits is adequate rather than class-leading. HONOR puts weight on eye comfort: it cites TÜV Rheinland low-blue-light and flicker-free certification, global DC dimming, dynamic dimming and a circadian night mode, plus a chip-level "defocus display" that it says improves transient myopia by an average of 13 degrees across more than 2,000 apps. Those percentages come from HONOR's own laboratory, the company states that the product is not a medical device, and independent confirmation of the myopia claim is limited. The flicker-free and blue-light certifications are the concrete part.

Performance and software

The processor is the Snapdragon 7 Gen 3, an octa-core mid-range chip. HONOR cites Qualcomm data that the chip improves CPU performance by 15 percent and GPU performance by 50 percent over the previous generation of its class. The 7-series is clearly a tier below the 8s Gen 4 in the Pro and well below the Snapdragon 8 Elite chips used in premium tablets, so heavy 3D games and demanding video editing will be slower, but study, browsing, streaming, document work and casual games are well within its range. HONOR describes it as suitable for learning, entertainment and multitasking, light gaming and video editing. The global pages do not list RAM or storage figures, so check the listing in your country for the exact memory options; they are not stated on this page.

The tablet runs MagicOS 10. The headline feature is PC mode, which offers a desktop-style layout with a persistent dock, multiple windows and split-screen, and mouse and keyboard shortcut support, switched on from the control centre or by attaching the keyboard. HONOR also promotes AI Memo for meetings (real-time transcription, summaries and mind maps), file transfer across Android, HarmonyOS, iOS, Windows and macOS, using a Mac as a secondary display, and conversion of Apple iWork files into Microsoft Office formats. The Android version and the update policy are not stated on the pages reviewed for this model; the Pro's page names Android 16 with MagicOS 10, and it is reasonable to expect the same base, but that is not confirmed here.

Cameras

The camera set-up depends on the edition. The Wi-Fi model has an 8 MP rear camera with f/2.0 and autofocus; the 5G model has a 13 MP rear camera with the same aperture and autofocus. The front camera is an 8 MP fixed-focus unit on both. These are tools for scanning pages, taking occasional pictures and making video calls, and nobody should treat them as photography hardware. If you care about document scanning, the 13 MP rear camera of the 5G edition has the edge in resolution.

Battery, charging and connectivity

The battery has a typical capacity of 10,100 mAh and a rated capacity of 10,000 mAh, the same as the Pro. HONOR's laboratory figures are roughly 12 hours of video, 7 hours of gaming, 8 hours of note-taking, 13 hours of reading and 56 hours of music playback, with a standby time of 71 days. These are claims from specific test conditions, and a bright screen at 120 Hz will reduce them. A charging speed is not given in the material reviewed. Connectivity is Wi-Fi 6 (802.11ax, with 2x2 MIMO and 4096-QAM) and Bluetooth 5.3 with LE Audio, Auracast and codec support including LDAC, aptX Lossless and LHDC 5.0. The 5G edition adds mobile data, although the pages reviewed do not list supported bands or SIM details.

For writing, HONOR offers the Magic-Pencil 4s (USB-C) with dual nibs and, according to the company, up to 10 hours of writing after a 50-minute charge, plus an all-in-one keyboard. Accessories are sold separately and are not part of the standard package.

Who it is for

The Pad 20 is best seen as a large, sharp, value-oriented tablet. It suits students who read and annotate, families who watch video together, and users who want a big second screen for documents without paying for the Pro's faster chip. The choice between editions is simple: Wi-Fi if you will always be near a network and want the lighter body, 5G if you need mobile data and the better rear camera. Because prices and memory options are not confirmed here, compare local listings with the Pro before deciding.

Compromises to consider

Overall, the HONOR Pad 20 offers the same large 3K screen, slim metal body and very big battery as the Pro at a lower performance tier, which makes it an attractive option for reading, study and video as long as peak speed is not the priority.

Where it ranks

Compare HONOR Pad 20 with similar devices

More from HONOR

Frequently asked questions

When was the HONOR Pad 20 released?

The HONOR Pad 20 was released on 2026-08-24, according to the manufacturer’s published information.

What are the main specs of the HONOR Pad 20?

Headline figures for the HONOR Pad 20: Battery: 10,100 mAh, Refresh rate: 120 Hz, Main camera: 8 MP. The full specification table is further up this page.

Is the HONOR Pad 20 worth buying?

That depends on your priorities. Use the editorial review on this page for our view, check the rankings above to see where the device stands on battery, display and camera, and compare it directly with similar models before you decide.