Tablets
HONOR MagicPad 2
A 12.3-inch 144Hz OLED tablet with Snapdragon 8s Gen 3, a 10,050 mAh battery and eight speakers in a 5.8 mm, 555 g body, announced in Europe from 599 euros.

Key figures at a glance
Gallery





Specifications
- Display
- 12.3" OLED, 3000x1920, up to 144Hz adaptive, 1600 nits peak, 290 PPI, 4320Hz PWM dimming
- Chipset
- Snapdragon 8s Gen 3 (4nm)
- RAM
- 12GB
- Extended RAM
- 8GB (memory compression, per the manufacturer's 12GB+8GB figure)
- Battery
- 10,050 mAh (typical), 66W wired
- OS
- MagicOS 8.0
- Audio
- 8 speakers, IMAX Enhanced, HONOR Spatial Audio
- Weight
- 555 g
- Thickness
- 5.8 mm
- Colors
- Moonlight White, Black
The HONOR MagicPad 2 is a 12.3-inch Android tablet that HONOR announced on 5 September 2024 at IFA in Berlin, with a European starting price of 599 euros. It combines a large 144Hz OLED panel, a Snapdragon 8s Gen 3 chip and a 10,050 mAh battery in a body that HONOR lists at 5.8 mm thick and 555 g. This page is based on the published specifications and manufacturer information. Where HONOR does not state a detail, such as the camera or the storage options on the pages we reviewed, we say so instead of filling the gap.
Place in the lineup
The MagicPad 2 is a large-screen, premium-leaning tablet in HONOR's MagicPad range. It is aimed at buyers who want a tablet that doubles as a media screen and a light work device, and it competes with Samsung's Galaxy Tab line and with Apple's iPad Air. HONOR announced it with two colours, Moonlight White and Black, with availability that varies by region. HONOR's press release gives a European price from 599 euros and no US dollar price, so the price in dollars is left empty here. The range has moved on since: the MagicPad 3 and MagicPad 4 pages cover the newer models, which matter if you want the latest hardware instead of a 2024 design.
Design and display
The screen is the reason to look at this tablet. HONOR specifies a 12.3-inch OLED panel with a 3000 x 1920 resolution, which works out to about 290 pixels per inch, an adaptive refresh rate of up to 144Hz and a peak brightness of 1,600 nits. The company also lists 10-bit colour with 1.07 billion colours, a 1,000,000:1 contrast ratio and a 92 percent screen-to-body ratio. The aspect ratio is closer to a document page than to a widescreen video frame, which suits reading and note-taking. For flicker-sensitive users, HONOR cites 4320Hz PWM dimming, a dynamic dimming mode and a circadian night display, and it mentions dual TUV certifications for eye comfort. These are manufacturer claims and settings, not medical statements, and HONOR itself says the product is not a medical device.
The body is 5.8 mm thick and weighs 555 g, which HONOR presents as slim for a screen of this size. Such figures are measured by the company under its own conditions, and the camera bump is not included in the thickness. The back is available in Moonlight White and Black. The audio system is worth noting: HONOR describes eight speakers, IMAX Enhanced certification and HONOR Spatial Audio, with a sound field it says is 25 percent wider than on the previous generation. We cannot verify those percentages without independent measurements, but a stereo-plus layout this size is a real asset if you watch video without headphones.
Performance and software
The chip is the Snapdragon 8s Gen 3, built on a 4nm process. It is a step below the full Snapdragon 8 Gen 3 used in the best phones of 2024, yet it is still a high-end platform for a tablet that will mostly run apps, video, drawing tools and office software. HONOR lists a memory figure of 12GB + 8GB in a footnote about memory compression, which we read as 12GB of physical RAM plus 8GB of extended memory created by software. We therefore list the RAM as 12GB and the extended portion separately. HONOR does not state storage options on the pages we reviewed, so none are given here, and buyers should confirm the version sold in their country.
The tablet runs MagicOS 8.0. HONOR does not say which Android version it is built on in the material we reviewed, so we do not state one. The software emphasis is on productivity and on working with other HONOR devices. Magic Portal lets you move content between apps by dragging it. HONOR Global Favorites and MagicRing aim to link the tablet with a phone or a PC signed in with the same HONOR account, and HONOR notes that devices need MagicOS 8.0 or later for some of these features. The AI office tools include voice-to-text, handwriting beautification and formula recognition. As with all such features, how useful they are depends on your workflow, and some of them are limited to certain apps.
Camera
HONOR does not list camera specifications for the MagicPad 2 in the sources we reviewed, so this page gives no megapixel numbers for it. In general, cameras on tablets are a secondary feature, used for video calls, document scanning and the occasional photograph. If video conferencing is the main reason for your purchase, check the front camera details in your local store listing before you buy, because we cannot confirm them from the manufacturer pages we used.
Battery and charging
The battery is large. HONOR gives a typical capacity of 10,050 mAh, and wired charging of up to 66W, described as typical, with the actual power varying by situation. That combination is generous for a tablet and should support long video sessions. HONOR does not publish a battery life figure for specific tasks that we could verify, and a screen of this size and brightness will consume a lot of power at full 144Hz, so treat real-world endurance as something to confirm in independent tests. Charger availability is also worth checking in the box contents for your market, since we did not find a statement on that.
Who it is for
The MagicPad 2 is for people who want a large, bright OLED screen with a fast refresh rate for reading, video, sketching and light productivity, and who prefer Android. It will appeal to someone who wants more screen area than a typical 11-inch tablet but does not need a laptop replacement. If you want a longer software support record or a wider app ecosystem for tablets, compare it with Samsung's Galaxy Tab S9 in the MagicPad 2 vs Galaxy Tab S9 table, and with the iPad Air M3 if you are open to Apple. At the top of the Android range, the Galaxy Tab S11 Ultra is a larger and costlier reference point. The rankings page shows how the tablets compare overall.
Compromises
- Missing details: Storage options and camera specifications are not stated on the manufacturer pages we reviewed.
- Software age: The tablet launched with MagicOS 8.0, and HONOR has newer MagicPad models.
- Price in some markets: A 599-euro launch price puts it against strong competition, and offers varied by country.
- Size: At 12.3 inches and 555 g it is more of a two-handed device than a compact tablet.
- Memory figure: The 12GB + 8GB number is the manufacturer's, and the extended part is software-based.
In summary, the MagicPad 2 is defined by its display, its battery and its speakers. The weak points are mainly gaps in what the manufacturer publishes rather than visible flaws, so confirm the storage and camera details for your region before you buy.
Where it ranks
Compare HONOR MagicPad 2 with similar devices
More from HONOR
Frequently asked questions
When was the HONOR MagicPad 2 released?
The HONOR MagicPad 2 was released on 2024-09-05, according to the manufacturer’s published information.
What are the main specs of the HONOR MagicPad 2?
Headline figures for the HONOR MagicPad 2: Battery: 10,050 mAh, Refresh rate: 320 Hz, RAM: 12 GB. The full specification table is further up this page.
Is the HONOR MagicPad 2 worth buying?
That depends on your priorities. Use the editorial review on this page for our view, check the rankings above to see where the device stands on battery, display and camera, and compare it directly with similar models before you decide.


