Phones
Infinix Note 40 5G
A mid-range 5G phone with a 6.78-inch 120Hz AMOLED screen, Dimensity 7020 chip, 108MP camera, 5,000 mAh battery and magnetic 15W wireless charging.

Key figures at a glance
Gallery




Specifications
- Display
- 6.78" flexible AMOLED (LTPS), 1080x2436, 60/90/120Hz, 1300 nits typ.
- Chipset
- MediaTek Dimensity 7020 (6nm)
- RAM
- 12GB
- RAM options
- 8GB / 12GB
- Extended RAM
- Up to 24GB (virtual, from storage)
- Storage
- 256GB / 512GB (UFS 3.1)
- Expandable storage
- Up to 2TB
- Rear Camera
- 108MP main (f/1.75, AF) + two further lenses (f/2.4, f/2.0)
- Front Camera
- 32MP (f/2.2)
- Battery
- 5000 mAh, 33W wired, 15W wireless (MagCharge with Infinix magnetic accessories)
- OS
- XOS 14.0.0
- Dimensions
- 165.51 x 75.93 x 7.91 mm
- Weight
- 185 g
- Colors
- Titan Gold, Obsidian Black
- Water/dust resistance
- IP53
- Audio
- Dual speakers, JBL-tuned, DTS, Hi-Res
- Connectivity
- 5G, Wi-Fi 5, NFC, USB-C (OTG), dual nano-SIM + T-card
The Infinix Note 40 5G is a mid-range Android phone built around a 6.78-inch 120Hz AMOLED screen, a MediaTek Dimensity 7020 chip, a 108MP main camera and a 5,000 mAh battery with 33W wired charging. Its most unusual feature for the price class is magnetic wireless charging, which Infinix sells as MagCharge and supports through its MagKit accessories. This page is a review based on the published specifications and manufacturer information. It covers where the phone sits in Infinix's range, what the hardware actually offers, and the compromises that come with a lower price than a flagship.
Where it sits in the lineup
Infinix sells the Note 40 family as a group of several phones, and the official model list on the company's site includes the Note 40, Note 40 Pro, Note 40 Pro 5G, Note 40 Pro+ 5G, Note 40S, Note 40X 5G and a set of Racing Edition variants. The Note 40 5G is the plain 5G model of the series. Infinix itself does not state a precise launch date on the product pages we could read, so the release date listed here is an approximate launch date and not a verified on-sale date. The brand is sold mainly in Asia, Africa, the Middle East and Latin America, and the company's own regional sites (global, Malaysia, the Philippines and others) show the same phone, with small regional differences in features. We found no official US price, so none is given.
Later Infinix phones raise the specification in several ways. The Infinix Note 50 Pro is one example of the newer Note generation, and the page Infinix Note 40 5G vs Infinix Note 50 Pro puts the two next to each other. If you are shopping across brands, the phone rankings show how the Note 40 5G compares with other devices by display, battery and camera data.
Design and display
The phone measures 165.51 x 75.93 x 7.91 mm and weighs 185 g, which is light for a phone with a 5,000 mAh battery. Infinix lists two colours, Titan Gold and Obsidian Black. The company describes the design as inspired by city skylines, with a brushed-metal-style finish, and it highlights a unibody frame in which the antenna is built into the metal edge so that the side bezels can be very thin. Infinix quotes a bezel width of 2.1 mm and a screen-to-body ratio of 93.8 percent. These are manufacturer figures, but they match the look of the official renders, which show a narrow, even frame around the display.
The screen is a flexible AMOLED panel of the LTPS type with a Full HD+ resolution of 1080 x 2436 pixels. The refresh rate can be set to 60Hz, 90Hz or 120Hz. Infinix lists a typical peak brightness of 1,300 nits, 10-bit colour depth, a claimed contrast ratio of 5,000,000:1, PWM dimming at 2,160Hz and a touch sampling rate of up to 360Hz when one or two fingers are used. The display carries a TUV Rheinland certification for low blue light. An in-display fingerprint sensor handles unlocking. In practice, a 120Hz AMOLED panel with this resolution is above what many phones at the same price offer, and the high PWM figure is useful for people who are sensitive to flicker at low brightness.
The phone also has a feature called Active Halo, a ring of light around the rear camera island. Infinix calls it first-in-segment AI lighting. It is designed to react to incoming calls, notifications, charging, music and voice assistant use. It is a matter of taste, and it adds a visible design signature, but it has no effect on core performance.
Water resistance is IP53, which means protection against light splashes and dust to a limited degree. It is not suitable for immersion. Higher-priced phones commonly reach IP68, so buyers who often use a phone near water should treat this as a basic level of protection only.
Performance and software
The processor is the MediaTek Dimensity 7020, a 6nm octa-core chip. Infinix lists two Cortex-A78 cores at up to 2.2 GHz and six Cortex-A55 cores at up to 2.0 GHz, paired with an integrated IMG BXM-8-256 graphics unit. This is a mid-range design that supports 5G and is aimed at everyday use, social apps, video and casual gaming rather than sustained heavy 3D games. Infinix quotes an AnTuTu score of 426,912 on its own page; that is a manufacturer claim for a specific test and should be read as an indication of the class, not as a guarantee of real-world speed.
Memory options are 8GB or 12GB of RAM with 256GB or 512GB of UFS 3.1 storage. Infinix also offers extended RAM, which borrows part of the storage as virtual memory, for a stated total of up to 24GB. This is a software feature and does not give the speed of physical RAM, so the physical figure of 8GB or 12GB is the number that matters. Storage can be expanded with a memory card of up to 2 TB, which is a generous limit compared with many rivals. The spec sheet lists dual nano-SIM slots plus a T-card option, but does not say whether the card slot is separate from the SIM slots.
The phone runs XOS 14.0.0, Infinix's own interface. The spec sheet does not name the underlying Android version, so we do not list one. Regional pages for the Philippines and Malaysia state two years of Android updates and 36 months of security patches. That is a shorter commitment than the multi-year promises made by Samsung and Google, so people who keep a phone for four or five years should weigh this. Other listed features include Wi-Fi 5, Bluetooth, NFC, FM radio, an infrared blaster, a USB-C port with OTG, Widevine L1 for HD streaming and DTS and Hi-Res audio support.
Camera
The rear camera system is led by a 108MP autofocus main sensor with an f/1.75 aperture. Two further rear lenses are listed with f/2.4 and f/2.0 apertures; the official spec sheet does not give their resolutions, so we do not either. Infinix markets a lossless 3x zoom that uses the high pixel count to crop into the image. In general, this kind of in-sensor zoom is useful for mid-range framing, but it is not equivalent to a dedicated telephoto lens.
The front camera is 32MP with an f/2.2 aperture. Infinix lists four rear flashes and a dual front flash, which is an unusual setup and mainly benefits selfies in low light. Video recording is available at 2K at 30fps, and Full HD at 60fps. There is no 4K video listed, which is a clear limitation for people who film a lot. The camera app includes modes such as Super Night, portrait, slow motion, time-lapse, dual video and a pro mode, plus a few extras such as AR Space and Sky Shop.
Battery and charging
The battery has a typical capacity of 5,000 mAh. Wired charging is rated at a maximum of 33W. Infinix presents it as All-Round FastCharge 2.0 and notes that it uses its own charging management chip, named Cheetah X1. The company states charge-to-50-percent times of roughly 19 to 31 minutes depending on the mode, and claims the battery keeps its capacity through 1,600 cycles. Those are claims made under test conditions and your own results will vary with the charger and temperature.
The standout is wireless charging at up to 15W. Infinix explains that its MagCharge works through the MagKit range of magnetic accessories such as a case, pad and power bank; the wireless function needs the compatible magnetic case, so the feature is not available with any plain charger without that accessory. The phone can also charge other devices, either wirelessly in reverse or through a cable using OTG reverse charging. Two software options are worth noting: Bypass Charging 2.0, which feeds the motherboard directly while gaming to reduce heat, and AI Charging Protection, which holds the battery at 80 percent overnight and finishes the charge shortly before you wake.
Audio and extras
The phone has dual stereo speakers tuned with JBL and supports DTS and Hi-Res audio. Infinix cites an independent audio test report in its material, but the useful fact is simply that there are two speakers and a Type-C headphone connection. The sensor package includes a gyroscope, compass, proximity, light and SAR sensors, and a vibration motor.
Who it is for
The Note 40 5G suits buyers who want a large bright display, a big battery and a strong feature list at a mid-range price, and who value magnetic wireless charging, which is rare in this class. It also suits people who want lots of storage and a card slot. For comparison inside Samsung's range, the Galaxy A26 offers a different balance of price, software support and camera hardware.
Compromises
- No official US price and limited availability in North America, because Infinix focuses on other regions.
- IP53 protection only, with no resistance to submersion.
- Two years of Android updates and 36 months of security patches on the regional pages we found, shorter than leading rivals.
- The Android version is not stated on the spec sheet, and the interface is XOS rather than stock Android.
- No 4K video recording, and the extra rear lenses are not described in detail.
- Wi-Fi 5 rather than a newer Wi-Fi standard.
- Wireless MagCharge needs the Infinix magnetic accessory to work as advertised.
Overall, the Infinix Note 40 5G is a feature-rich mid-ranger with a 120Hz AMOLED screen and a distinctive charging system, held back mostly by its modest update promise and basic water protection.
Where it ranks
Compare Infinix Note 40 5G with similar devices
More from Infinix
Frequently asked questions
When was the Infinix Note 40 5G released?
The Infinix Note 40 5G was released on 2024-04-01, according to the manufacturer’s published information.
What are the main specs of the Infinix Note 40 5G?
Headline figures for the Infinix Note 40 5G: Battery: 5,000 mAh, Refresh rate: 120 Hz, Main camera: 108 MP, RAM: 12 GB. The full specification table is further up this page.
Is the Infinix Note 40 5G worth buying?
That depends on your priorities. Use the editorial review on this page for our view, check the rankings above to see where the device stands on battery, display and camera, and compare it directly with similar models before you decide.


