Tablets
Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite (2024)
Samsung's entry-level pen tablet: a 10.4-inch screen, bundled S Pen, 7,040 mAh battery, 4GB RAM and AKG-tuned speakers in a light metal body.

Key figures at a glance
Gallery





Specifications
- Display
- 10.4" TFT, 2000x1200 (WUXGA+)
- Chipset
- Octa-core (4x 2.4GHz + 4x 2.0GHz), chip name not stated
- RAM
- 4GB
- Storage
- 64GB / 128GB, microSD up to 1TB
- Rear Camera
- 8MP main (autofocus, no flash)
- Front Camera
- 5MP
- Battery
- 7,040 mAh (typical), rated 6,840 mAh
- OS
- Android 14
- Dimensions
- 244.5 x 154.3 x 7.0 mm
- Weight
- 465 g (Wi-Fi) / 467 g (LTE)
- Colors
- Oxford Gray, Chiffon Pink, Mint
- S Pen
- Included
- Audio
- Dual speakers tuned by AKG, Dolby Atmos
- Connectivity
- Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 5.3, optional LTE, USB 2.0
The Galaxy Tab S6 Lite (2024) is Samsung's entry-level tablet with a pen. It pairs a 10.4-inch screen with a bundled S Pen, a large 7,040 mAh battery and a light metal body, and it targets students, families and anyone who wants a straightforward tablet for notes, reading and video. It is a refresh of an older design rather than a new platform, and Samsung's own announcement frames it as a stylish tablet for work and play. This page is a review based on the published specifications and manufacturer information. It explains where the tablet sits in Samsung's range, what the hardware offers, and which compromises come with the low price tier.
Where it sits in the lineup
Samsung announced the Galaxy Tab S6 Lite (2024) on 26 March 2024 and said it would be available starting 28 March, with timing varying by region. It continues the Tab S6 Lite line that first appeared in 2020, and the name carries the year to separate it from that original. Samsung offers it as a Wi-Fi model and as an LTE model, though availability of the LTE version depends on the market or carrier. No US launch price was found on Samsung's pages, so none is listed here.
Within Samsung's range the tablet sits below the Galaxy Tab S series and next to the Galaxy Tab A line. A current budget alternative is the Galaxy Tab A11, and the comparison page Galaxy Tab S6 Lite (2024) vs Galaxy Tab A11 shows the numbers side by side. Moving up, the Galaxy Tab S10 FE+ and the Galaxy Tab S9 are considerably more powerful and more expensive. The Tab S6 Lite's main selling point against the Tab A line is that the pen comes in the box.
Design and display
The tablet measures 244.5 x 154.3 x 7.0 mm and weighs 465 g for the Wi-Fi version and 467 g for the LTE version. Samsung describes a premium metallic look in three colours: Oxford Gray, Chiffon Pink and Mint. It cites a slim, symmetrical bezel of 9 mm around the screen. That symmetry makes the tablet comfortable to hold in either orientation, though a bezel of this width is wide by the standards of current flagship tablets.
The display is a 10.4-inch TFT panel with a WUXGA+ resolution of 2000 x 1200 pixels. TFT is an LCD technology, so it will not match the contrast of the OLED or AMOLED screens used on more expensive Samsung tablets. Samsung does not state a refresh rate for this model on the pages we read, so we do not list one; buyers who want a high refresh rate for scrolling should look at higher-tier models instead. For reading, browsing and streaming at home the resolution is adequate, with a pixel density that is sharp enough for text.
S Pen and productivity
The S Pen is the main reason to choose this model. Samsung says an ergonomic pen is bundled and that it is comfortable to hold for long periods. It needs no charging, which removes a common annoyance with styluses. Samsung describes writing and drawing in Samsung Notes and says users can jot down thoughts without unlocking the tablet. Samsung also notes full compatibility with other Galaxy devices, naming the Galaxy Buds FE as an example of seamless connectivity across devices.
This is a tablet for light creative work. Note-taking, annotating documents, sketching and filling in forms are the natural uses. It is not aimed at professional drawing or heavy multitasking, and the specification gives no sign of desktop-style features. The tablet supports microSD cards up to 1 TB, a useful way to store downloaded books, videos and lecture material without paying for the larger internal option.
Performance and software
Samsung describes the processor only as an octa-core design, with four cores at 2.4 GHz and four at 2.0 GHz. The company does not name the chip in the sources we found, and we do not guess it. Memory is 4GB of RAM, and storage is 64GB or 128GB. The 4GB figure is the single most important limit: it is enough for browsing, video, reading and note-taking, but multitasking with many apps and large games will feel constrained.
The tablet runs Android 14. Samsung's regional product page also refers to One UI 6.1. The sources we read do not state how many years of updates this model receives, so we make no claim about update length. Connectivity includes Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n/ac on both bands, Bluetooth 5.3 and an optional LTE modem. The regional listing shows no NFC. It has a USB 2.0 connection, which means slow data transfer compared with newer USB standards, and a 3.5mm headphone jack, which many buyers will welcome.
Camera and audio
The rear camera is 8MP with autofocus and no flash. The front camera is 5MP. Video recording tops out at Full HD at 30 frames per second on the listing we read. These cameras are meant for document scans, video calls and quick snapshots, not for serious photography, which is typical for a tablet in this class.
Sound comes from dual speakers tuned by AKG with Dolby Atmos support. Stereo speakers are a clear advantage for a tablet that people use for video, and the audio formats supported include MP3, AAC, FLAC and WAV.
Battery and charging
The battery has a typical capacity of 7,040 mAh and a rated minimum capacity of 6,840 mAh. Samsung states up to 14 hours of video playback in its announcement, and its regional page lists up to 13 hours of Wi-Fi internet use and 14 hours of video. These are manufacturer figures from controlled tests, so real results vary with brightness and use. Samsung does not list a charging speed on the pages we read, and the regional listing notes that the charger is not included, so buyers should expect to supply their own USB-C charger.
Choosing a version
Buyers face three practical choices. First, storage: the 64GB model leaves roughly 48GB free according to Samsung's regional listing, because the system and pre-installed software take a share, so people who download films or large apps may prefer 128GB or a microSD card. Second, connectivity: the Wi-Fi model is lighter by 2 g and enough for use at home, while the LTE model suits commuting or travelling without hotspot sharing, provided your market and carrier offer it. Third, colour: Oxford Gray, Chiffon Pink and Mint are the three finishes named in the announcement, though availability varies by region, and the regional listing we read showed only grey.
Who it is for
The Tab S6 Lite (2024) suits students and families who want a pen-ready tablet with a long-lasting battery and a modest price. It is a good fit for note-taking, e-books, streaming and kids' use around the house. Samsung's own wording places it with students, young professionals and families.
Compromises
- A TFT LCD screen rather than OLED, with no stated refresh rate.
- Only 4GB of RAM, which limits multitasking.
- An unnamed octa-core chip and a single 8MP rear camera.
- USB 2.0 rather than a faster USB standard, and no NFC on the regional listing.
- No charger in the box on the listing we saw, and no stated charging speed.
- No update duration stated in the sources we read.
- A thick 9mm bezel and a weight of 465 g that is on the heavy side for a 10.4-inch tablet.
In short, the Galaxy Tab S6 Lite (2024) offers a pen, a big battery and a tidy metal design at an entry-level tier, in exchange for an LCD screen, modest memory and an ageing design.
Where it ranks
Compare Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite (2024) with similar devices
More from Samsung
Frequently asked questions
When was the Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite (2024) released?
The Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite (2024) was released on 2024-03-28, according to the manufacturer’s published information.
What are the main specs of the Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite (2024)?
Headline figures for the Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite (2024): Battery: 7,040 mAh, Main camera: 8 MP, RAM: 4 GB. The full specification table is further up this page.
Is the Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 Lite (2024) worth buying?
That depends on your priorities. Use the editorial review on this page for our view, check the rankings above to see where the device stands on battery, display and camera, and compare it directly with similar models before you decide.


