Phones
Apple iPhone 17e
Apple's most affordable iPhone 17 family member brings the A19 chip, a 48MP Fusion camera with 2x telephoto, MagSafe and 256GB of storage from $599, but keeps a 6.1-inch screen.

Key figures at a glance
Gallery






Specifications
- Display
- 6.1" Super Retina XDR (OLED), 2532x1170, 460 ppi, 800 nits typical, 1200 nits peak (HDR), Ceramic Shield 2
- Chipset
- Apple A19 (6-core CPU, 4-core GPU with Neural Accelerators, 16-core Neural Engine) with Apple C1X modem
- Storage
- 256GB / 512GB
- Rear Camera
- 48MP main (Fusion, 26mm, f/1.6, OIS) with 2x optical-quality telephoto (12MP crop)
- Front Camera
- 12MP TrueDepth, f/1.9
- Battery
- Up to 26 hours video playback (Apple claim); 15W MagSafe and Qi2 wireless, USB-C fast charging (up to 50% in 30 minutes with a 20W adapter)
- OS
- iOS 26
- Body
- 146.7 x 71.5 x 7.8 mm, 169 g; aluminum frame, glass back; IP68 (up to 6 m for 30 minutes)
- Connectivity
- 5G, Wi-Fi 6, Bluetooth 5.3, NFC, dual eSIM (no physical SIM), USB-C (USB 2)
- Colors
- Black, White, Soft Pink
The iPhone 17e is the most affordable member of Apple's iPhone 17 family. It keeps the compact 6.1-inch body of the "e" line, but moves up to the A19 chip, a 48MP Fusion camera with an optical-quality 2x telephoto crop, MagSafe wireless charging and 256GB of starting storage, all at the US launch price of $599. This page is based on the published specifications and manufacturer information from Apple's technical specifications page and its March 2026 newsroom announcement. Battery, durability and speed statements that come from Apple's own testing are marked as claims, and the many software features that depend on region, language and account settings are described only briefly.
Place in the lineup
Apple announced the iPhone 17e on 2 March 2026, opened pre-orders on 4 March and began sales on 11 March 2026. The launch price in the United States was $599 for the base model, which now has 256GB of storage; Apple itself points out that this doubles the entry storage of the previous generation at the same starting price. A 512GB version also exists, but the sources used here do not give its price. The phone sits below the iPhone 17 and the premium iPhone 17 Pro, and it succeeds the iPhone 16e in the budget role. If you are weighing the two generations of the "e" line, the table for iPhone 17e vs. iPhone 16e sets the specifications side by side.
Design and display
The enclosure is aerospace-grade aluminium with a glass back and a matte finish, offered in black, white and a new soft pink. It measures 146.7 x 71.5 x 7.8 mm and weighs 169 grams, which keeps it compact and light. The front cover is Ceramic Shield 2, which Apple says gives three times better scratch resistance than the previous generation and reduces glare through an anti-reflective coating. Water and dust resistance is rated IP68, with Apple specifying up to 6 metres for 30 minutes under laboratory conditions; as with every phone, that is a test rating and not a guarantee for everyday accidents.
The screen is a 6.1-inch Super Retina XDR OLED panel with 2532 x 1170 pixels at 460 ppi. Apple lists 800 nits typical brightness, 1200 nits peak in HDR, a 2,000,000:1 contrast ratio, True Tone, wide colour (P3) and Haptic Touch. The specifications page does not state a refresh rate, so this review does not give one; Face ID handles unlocking, and an Action button gives a programmable shortcut for silent mode, focus, the flashlight, camera, visual intelligence, translation and more. The device has stereo speakers, a USB-C port and, as the specifications say, no physical SIM tray.
Performance and software
The A19 has a six-core CPU with two performance cores and four efficiency cores, a four-core GPU with Neural Accelerators, hardware-accelerated ray tracing and a 16-core Neural Engine. Apple claims the CPU is up to twice as fast as the one in the iPhone 11 and says the Neural Accelerators make on-device Apple Intelligence tasks faster than on the previous generation. The newsroom text does not give benchmark scores, and none are given here. Alongside the A19 comes the C1X modem, designed by Apple, which the company says is up to twice as fast as the C1 in the iPhone 16e and uses 30 percent less energy than the modem in the iPhone 16 Pro. The specifications list 5G sub-6GHz with 4x4 MIMO, Wi-Fi 6 and Bluetooth 5.3. Wi-Fi 7 is not listed.
The phone launched with iOS 26 and its Liquid Glass design, and Apple Intelligence features such as Live Translation, visual intelligence on the screen, Call Screening and Hold Assist, subject to language and region availability. Apple's specifications page for the phone now lists a newer iOS version in the box, which reflects the current shipping software rather than the launch version. Apple does not publish a fixed update period on these pages but says the phone is designed to stay fast and secure for years. RAM is not stated in the sources, so no figure appears in the specification list.
Camera
The camera is a single rear lens, which is the trade-off for the price. The 48MP Fusion main camera has a 26 mm equivalent focal length, an f/1.6 aperture, optical image stabilisation and Hybrid Focus Pixels, and it can save 24MP or 48MP photos. Apple also lets it act as a 2x "optical-quality" telephoto at 52 mm by using the central 12MP of the sensor, together with digital zoom up to 10x. There is no ultrawide camera; if wide shots matter, the iPhone 17 is the more flexible phone. Photo features include the Photonic Engine, Deep Fusion, Smart HDR 5, next-generation portraits that can be refocused after the shot, Night mode, panoramas up to 63MP and Photographic Styles. Video goes up to 4K Dolby Vision at 60 frames per second, with 1080p slow motion at 120 or 240 frames per second, Cinematic stabilisation and Spatial Audio. The front camera is a 12MP TrueDepth unit at f/1.9, which also records 4K Dolby Vision video.
Battery and charging
Apple does not state the battery capacity in milliampere-hours. It quotes up to 26 hours of video playback and up to 21 hours of streamed video playback, and these are claims based on Apple's tests. Fast charging with a 20W or stronger adapter, which is sold separately, reaches up to 50 percent in 30 minutes. Wireless charging is the notable improvement: MagSafe and Qi2 deliver up to 15W, compared with 7.5W Qi charging on the iPhone 16e, according to Apple. The magnet array also allows the wide ecosystem of MagSafe cases, wallets and stands. The USB-C port is limited to USB 2 speeds of up to 480 Mb/s, which is slow for moving large video files.
Safety features and extras
The phone includes Emergency SOS via satellite, Roadside Assistance via satellite, Messages via satellite and Find My via satellite, plus Crash Detection. Apple Pay, an Action button and a hearing-aid-compatibility rating are listed too. On the environmental side, Apple says the phone contains 30 percent recycled content, including 85 percent recycled aluminium in the enclosure and 100 percent recycled cobalt in the battery, and that 55 percent of the electricity used in manufacturing is renewable. The packaging is fibre-based and the box contains the phone and a USB-C cable.
Who it is for and trade-offs
The iPhone 17e is suited to people who want a small, light iPhone with current-generation performance, a long software life and MagSafe, without paying for the Pro models. It is also a sensible upgrade for owners of older iPhones who are happy with one good camera. The compromises are clear: a single rear camera with no ultrawide, a 6.1-inch screen whose refresh rate is not specified by Apple, a USB-C port limited to USB 2, no physical SIM slot, no stated battery capacity and a modest set of connectivity standards. Readers who want the broadest camera system should look at the iPhone 17, and the phone rankings place all of these models side by side.
Where it ranks
Compare Apple iPhone 17e with similar devices
More from Apple
Frequently asked questions
When was the Apple iPhone 17e released?
The Apple iPhone 17e was released on 2026-03-11, according to the manufacturer’s published information.
How much does the Apple iPhone 17e cost?
The estimated range for the Apple iPhone 17e is $539 to $659 in US dollars, based on the launch list price. Actual prices vary by country, retailer and storage option.
What are the main specs of the Apple iPhone 17e?
Headline figures for the Apple iPhone 17e: Main camera: 48 MP. The full specification table is further up this page.
Is the Apple iPhone 17e worth buying?
That depends on your priorities. Use the editorial review on this page for our view, check the rankings above to see where the device stands on battery, display and camera, and compare it directly with similar models before you decide.


